People are constantly walking in and out of your life all through out. How many times have you thought someone was going to always be there for you through thick and thin? Thought they would be by your side through life for a relatively long time? Thought they understood you the most out of everyone you knew around? Only to look back at the past and remember how different your impression once was. Unfortunately, I would say that almost everyone has had a surprising revelation that someone wasn’t who they thought they were, leading to disappointment and a lot of thinking needed be done.

This post is a lot harder for me to write than I thought because of the recent issues that I’ve been facing. As a new university student, there’s just been so much going on with me as a person and surroundings. Decisions have to be constantly made in regard to how I manage my time, energy, money, and relationships. The latter, unsurprisingly, has been the most difficult to handle and has brought me the most unease and stress. 

One of the reasons has actually been because a girl’s primary language consists of drama, no matter where you are in the world. This typically arises at the end of middle school and happens to stick with the species for the continuation of their lifetime, leading to crying, gossip, and the never ending desire to be sassy. Living in an all girls’ house, this has all been a thing of the norm. Being super anxious about my social interactions though, this has done a roll on me and has really made me think about my friendships.

I’ve just had a recent squabble with someone I thought I was really close to and it’s really put me on edge because of how unexpected it was. The ex-friend not only disrespected me to my face but continued to do so by speaking ill of me behind my back. Right after, I started to think about the importance of letting people go in life when you need to. Through and through and regardless of the person in question, there will come a point where you have to decide whether you want to part ways with someone you were around for awhile.

It’s a lot easier said than done. The memories and the good times will constantly pop up to remind you of what you once had, all the thoughts you exchanged will materialize abruptly when you think of them. It’s tough and all but we all have to understand that some people are just not worth it and that you need to make decisions based on this thought process. All through life, you’re going to have to let people go all the time because things just didn’t work out or different mindset. Just remember that each person has a purpose in your life and when they finish it, it’s time to let go. Don’t forget the memories because although everything seems bleak in terms of your relationship in the present, the past was beautiful.

5 thoughts on “The Ones We Let Go of

Leave a Reply

